PIANEZZE

Situated in a beautiful position on the foothills of the Asiago Plateau, between the Astico and Brenta rivers, the territory of the Municipality of Pianezze stretches partly in the hills and partly in the plains.

The first record of Pianezze dates back to 1025, in the form "Planicia": the name comes from the Latin planities meaning "flat surface." The appellation probably referred to the flat space sandwiched between the hills where the historic center stands.

From the evidence uncovered during the recent restoration of the Church of Saints Philip and James, which dates back to the Franco-Longobard period, the hillside area appears to have been inhabited since protohistoric times.

At first Pianezze was considered a simple locality included in the Marosticense territory. Then, in the 13th century, it became a "colmello" or "colonello" that is, a hamlet of Marostica: a fertile territory rising on volcanic hills, rich in springs and abounding in crops, especially fruits. There appear to have been fortified works during this period.

Among the historical places to visit are the Parish Church of San Lorenzo, dedicated to the patron saint of the town, and the Oratory of Saints Philip and James, a church located on a hill. In addition, there is the Villa Maroso dating back to the 16th century.

The area is known for cherry cultivation. The famous "Sandra" variety, in great demand on the market for its qualities, was discovered in Pianezze itself back in the 1920s.

DISCOVER THE TERRITORY